The beads are used to make jewelry from antiquity; they were called tears of Aphrodite. Roman families who could afford buying their daughters one or two beads each year, so that they have a full collar on their majority. The Cibjo recognizes four categories of beads: (very rare) natural pearls, cultures, composed pearls beads, imitation pearls. Added to this is the two categories of fresh water or sea water.

The value of pearls is determined by their shape (symmetry), brilliance, their size, their color.

The beads are divided into eight forms of basic, round, semi-round, button, drop, oval, pear, baroque, banded.

The brightness (or the Pearl luster) is the most important criteria for judging the quality of a Pearl, especially for jewellers, but bigger the Pearl is, more expensive it sells. Large perfectly round pearls are very rare and highly sought-after for necklaces at several ranks.

The thickness of the nacre is a factor determining the quality of a Pearl. Mother of Pearl can be regarded as the essence of the Pearl, because it will provide its luster, its colour and durability. A thick nacre allows the Pearl of permanently keep its colour and appearance, unlike the fine Pearl that even if he she can be very beautiful, will be harder to last in time. The size of beads strongly depends on the species producing the Pearl.

Contenu soumis à la licence CC-BY-SA. Source : Article Perle de Wikipédia en français (auteurs)

Products related to this article
0 Comments To "Pearls"

Write a comment

Your Name:

Your Comment: Note: HTML is not translated!

Enter the code in the box below:








-- © Les Bricolles de Cleo 2006 - 2019 --